Just a Blog by Just Rhianna

Where did 2 months go?

So much has been going on that it is hard to imagine its been nearly two months since my last blog entry. I had committed to be more diligent with writing and then holiday season, three children’s birthdays and lots of work materialized.

Just got back from nine days in Orlando. I managed to walk the entire time we were there without any aide of an electric scooter. I am very proud of myself. It haven’t done so much walking since the fall I had in March that resulted in my ankle reconstruction surgery in May. I won’t lie I am quite sore and I was on the verge of giving in to temptation a few times but I pushed through. It paid off because I only gained three pounds at Disney from the endless food where as some of my companions gained more than ten.

Work wise I have been navigating through some new Oracle learning paths and taking advantage of the resources I have available to me as an employee at an Oracle Gold Partner in OPN. I have taken a few of the assessments and started collecting certifications. There are a few that I am really excited to learn more about but will be doing them on my personal time as my current role does not require knowlwedge of Fusion or Exalytics. What can I say I am a lifetime student and love to aquire new knowledge.

In October I had the chance to work closely with some of the members of my Dev team while I was in the UK and we played with Rest API for Nokia Maps, Google Maps, and with Silverlight. I really enjoyed helping my team venture into unfamiliar territory.

We bonded during my week long stay both at work, during some lovely Indian cuisine as well as over drinks.

I spent much of November building PHP custom widgets and pages in Customer Portal for a client with RightNow CX. To do so I had some fun playing with Adobe CS6 Dreamweaver, Fireworks, Illustrator and Photoshop. It is not too often that I get to be so deep in the trenches and stretching my creative muscles.

Due to some other things going on at work that have got me a bit out of sorts I decided to be on strike for Thanksgiving and did not cook this year. My family was very understanding and supportive. The kids didn’t mind because they got to have fast food, watch movies and play video games instead of having Mommy force stuffing and vegetables on them. I promised to make it up to them though for Christmas.

The first nine days of december as I mentioned above were spent in Disney though I swear I dreamt I was in Texas at one point. I will be uploading photos of our time in the Magic Kingdom in the next few days and will be sure to provide a few samples for your enjoyment.

With that note I will leave you for the night with a comic about design. http://Systemcomic.com

Only Nice???

Leave a Reply

